Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

626F6F78747265616D=7474747474727576707<7473

Note: this review does contain spoilers. 

Since reading the very last Harry Potter book, I was happy with the way the series came to a close, but I was also a little disappointed that we would never get the next chapter. In this script, that is exactly what we get. The play opens with the very last scene that is in the seventh novel and goes on from there. Time is played with from the very beginning and it’s no wonder that the story revolves around an illicit time turner. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is very much a story in the tradition of the series–full of adventure, friendship, the strength of love battling against the strength of evil. However, the familiar characters that we know (Ron, Hermione, and Harry) are much more nuanced as adults. I like that the central conflict stems from the fact that Harry is just struggling (and failing) to be a good father. I don’t want to give too much away, but I have to say I really loved one of our main protagonists: Scorpius Malfoy. What can I say? He made my nerdy heart sing. In any case, I will just have to say that I enjoyed the story and the script very much. I wish it was not impossible for me to see the play, but I am glad that they did at least release the script!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

