The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

RavenKing

The Raven King is the fourth (and final?) book in the Raven Cycle. I believe it is the last book and it certainly does tie up the loose ends of the major conflicts of the first three books.

I will be honest–it had been so long since I read the third book, Blue Lily, Lily Blue that I actually needed a recap on the plot before delving into The Raven King.

Strengths: The strength of Stiefvater’s writing in this book is much the same as in many of her other novels. Her strengths are the fascinating details she gives to her unique set of characters, the little revelations about them she offers up that help build their voice and their realness, and also, I think, the lyricism found in her particular style of writing. I personally loved the repetition of certain words or phrases and parallel structuring throughout the book–it lends a feeling of orality/storytelling to the novel, which I thought was only fitting since Welsh mythology has a lot to do with this novel. The Raven King, more than the other books, almost felt more poetry than prose. Or perhaps poetry in prose. In any case–I greatly enjoyed the actual structure of the writing. I know it won’t be to everyone’s taste, but I thought it worked very well.

 

Weaknesses: I have had some trouble with the feasibility of the main characters (as amazing/unique as they are)–especially Gansey. My favorite character is Ronan and I think that is just because I love the way he is described–so fierce and so fragile. Certainly an interesting view of masculinity and adolescence combined. As much as I am super happy that Ronan got to experience some romance in this novel (finally!), I’m not sure if I truly believe Adam’s feelings for him. Everything between them in this novel seemed to happen so fast. That is another one of my critiques–pacing. I thought that the pacing of Blue Lily, Lily Blue was a bit sluggish and in this novel it seemed to go at warp speed. Ronan and Adam kiss. Henry Cheng and Gansey become instant best buds. Blue discovers her true identity and what her father really is. All of these things were important. All of these things made for wonderful reading–but everything happened SO FAST that it was a little difficult to really get into the story.

I will have to say that overall I was happy with the ending to this series. I loved Ronan’s graduation gift to Blue. Adam’s confrontation with his parents in the end felt like closure in real life–ultimately somewhat disappointing, but ever so important.

I would definitely recommend The Raven Cycle series to anyone looking for unique YA fantasy. However, I think my favorite Stiefvater book will remain The Scorpio Races.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review, Books

Leave a Reply

