Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger

herfearful As I loved The Time Traveler’s Wife and The Three Incestuous Sisters, I decided that I would enjoy another book by the same author and bought this on a whim at Barnes and Noble.

I was also drawn to the book by the title–I love the literary allusion to one of my favorite poems (William Blake, FTW) and also how “symmetry” is so close to the word “cemetery.” Just FYI, do not read this book if the thought of cemeteries/embalming creeps you out. Highgate Cemetery is one of the major settings within the novel. The person who interviewed Niffenegger in the Q&A at the end of the book even goes so far as to say that Highgate is its own character in the novel–I wouldn’t go that far, but nonetheless it plays an important part in the story. I don’t want to give too much in the way of a plot synopsis, because I think this is one of those rare books that unfolds itself perfectly for the reader. I love its similarity to my favorite Victorian novels–the symmetry, the doppelgangers, the plot twists, unexpected bestowals of wealth, and family you thought you knew, but didn’t really.

This is a book about love, twins, death, ghosts, London, and growing up. And I loved every word of it!

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review, Books

Leave a Reply

