Unspoken (The Lynburn Legacy #1) by Sarah Reese Brennan

unspoken I picked up Unspoken on a whim after I couldn’t find the book I was looking for. It is YA Gothic paranormal romance–all things I love.

Unspoken tells the story of Kami Glass–an aspiring journalist who starts a newspaper at her school in the small, sleepy English town of Sorry-in-the-Vale. Nothing much seems to happen in her hometown, until the return of the family who used be the ancestral lords over the people in the town–the Lynburns. Kami is determined to find out all of their secrets–until she meets Jared, the “other” Lynburn, who is part of a secret that she has been keeping about herself for years. And then there are the strange things happening all over town–attacks, ritual animal killings, strange weather patterns, the fact that the Lynburns actually still own the deeds to most of the town–including her own home. Kami will stop at nothing to uncover the truth–but what will this truth mean for her? Kami, who has been both an outsider and an insider in Sorry-in-the-Vale is about to discover her place in the great secret of the Lynburns.

I very much enjoyed Brennan’s rendering of the modern Gothic novel, set in England. At times I felt the story was a little too over the top–as much as I loved that Kami was a stop-at-nothing investigator, I felt that some of her actions were a bit too unbelievable. I enjoyed the tension and the relationship between Jared and Kami–their telepathic link. However, I think if I was Kami I would have long gone insane with having another voice in my head at all times. I don’t know if it was good enough for me to consider picking up the sequel, but I can tell you that I was definitely entertained.

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Book Review, Books

One response to “Unspoken (The Lynburn Legacy #1) by Sarah Reese Brennan

Leave a Reply

