The Duke and I by Julia Quinn

The Duke and I CoverA few years ago I received a recommendation to read The Duke and I, saved it to my “Want-To-Read” Shelf on Goodreads (thank you Goodreads), and then promptly forgot about. However, as this is my last week of freedom before school (and massive amounts of required reading) starts, I took a gander through my Goodreads account to look for something I could read for fun that would require little to no brain cells. Sure enough–I saw the Duke and I. I’ve never set very high standards for romance novels–I mostly view them as pure enjoyment.

And sure enough–Julia Quinn’s The Duke and I was every bit as enjoyable and fun as I thought it would be! I knew right away I would enjoy the story because it is an Avon Historical Romance (I used to read the YA versions–some of them penned by Meg Cabot under a pseudonym) and it is set in early, 19th-century England.

The story revolves around a young woman, Daphne Bridgerton, who is always just the “best friend” and never a love interest, and a young man, the Duke of Hastings, who wishes to be left alone from the ambitious mothers of London society who scheme for their daughters to marry him. Together, they form a plan, which involves some deception, to get what they both want. The story is fast-paced, the banter witty, and there are some fairly steamy romance scenes. Overall, I would say it was JUST what I needed currently. Was the plot twisted, was the description mind-blowing and the dialogue or character development earth-shattering? No. But it was incredibly fun to read and it made me laugh out loud. In short, if you are only the occasional reader of romance (like me) or are looking to pick up a historical romance novel for the first time, this first book in Julia Quinn’s Bridgerton series is a great place to start! I know I’ll eventually get around to reading the sequels!

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review, Books

Leave a Reply

