Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor

Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor

This is the sequel to the amazing Daughter of Smoke and Bone. I realize that it has taken me awhile to get to reading the sequel, especially since I enjoyed the first book so much. I read the first book in the series for a class I took in Spring 2013, a class where I was encouraged to seek out many new books and not read sequels. That is part of the reason why I waited. The other reason was reading A Song of Ice and Fire and also The Demon King series this summer. What can I say? I love me some fantastical worlds.

In any case, I wish I had been able to pick up sequel closer to when I read the first book, because I was simply enthralled, once again, by the world of angels and chimaera that Laini Taylor has created. I love that she has chosen such interesting places to ground the reader in our world, first Prague and now Morocco, to then transport us to the world of Eretz. I really like that none of Karou’s choices are simple, her path is not straightforward, and she is faced with the immense and lonely task of growing up and taking her mentor’s place amongst her people–her people who killed her in a past life. For Karou, the guilt and the loneliness is all-consuming. Taylor once again balances the strangeness of the fantasy world she has created with the fierce inner struggles of her characters. I especially enjoyed when Karou’s friends, against all odds, find and invade her world and refuse to leave her alone. I will be looking forward to the final chapter of this riveting series!

Peace out,

The Book Hunter

Leave a comment

May 9, 2014 · 8:14 pm

Leave a Reply

