Belle De Jour: The Intimate Adventures of a London Call Girl

Image

Belle De Jour is a book adaptation of the blog posts of Belle (pseudonym), London call girl and blogger extraordinaire! Belle’s entries are funny, honest, poignant, graphic, detailed, and every bit as wonderful and salacious as you might hope. I had watched the show with Billie Piper (entitled Secret Diary of a Call Girl), and found it hilarious, but the book (which my friend was so kind to buy me at a signing in Scotland and have it signed by the author herself!) is exponentially wittier with so many laugh-out-loud moments. Once started, it’s hard to put this book down.

One thing I will say, this is not a non-fiction recollection for those uncomfortable with sexuality or graphic descriptions of sexual situations. But Belle is honest about her job and what it means to be a (not drug addicted or sold into slavery) call girl. While I’m sure there are those out there who might be reading this and cringing–how can I like a story about prostitute? How is that fitting for a feminist like me to enjoy learning about a profession that literally exploits women (and men too, come to think of it)? And all I can think to write is that I am nearly always open to enjoying a story or book if it is well written, I like the author/narrators’ voice, and if it is engaging and interesting. And that is what Belle De Jour’s book is. In Belle’s struggles to find/keep a relationship and keep up her friendships and regular life while performing some not so regular job duties as well as her memories of former relationships and her observations of London, I found something so honest and human. If my description of this book makes you a little bit scared (but a little bit interested) to pick up this book, then I absolutely dare you to so. As Eleanor Roosevelt once said: “Do one thing every day that scares you.”

Wise words, wise words indeed.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

