The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

Since Cassandra Clare’s The Mortal Instruments series has been around for awhile, and is now a movie out in theaters, I will skip on writing a synopsis. Suffice to say, this is a story about discovering identity and unique talents, learning that the world is not the place you thought it was, and learning that your parents are not the people you thought they were. Basically the premise for MANY a YA fantasy novel. And yet, I did enjoy the world of the Shadowhunters, Jace and Clary’s snarky remarks toward each other, and the motorcycles that run on demon energy. Clare’s strength, at least in this first novel, is not so much in the world building as it is in the complexity of the characters’ relationships. Also, the use of the close third person narration is refreshing since YA is often inundated in first-person narrators. There was also quite a bit of literary allusion in this novel– from the epigraphs at the beginning of each section to the Oscar Wilde quote. I enjoyed the allusions as well as the implications they gave to the characters.
For those that enjoy a healthy dose of Urban Fantasy, I would recommend City of Bones alongside Holly Black’s Tithe as well as the more light-hearted Glimmerglass by Jenna Black.

And, since I always posted a pic of Jon Snow with my Song of Ice and Fire reviews, I will post now post a pic of Jamie Campbell Bower as Jace Wayland with my Mortal Instruments posts (I’ll be reading the next two books in the series and stopping there).

What I want for Christmas (and I'm not talking about the sword...)

What I want for Christmas (and I’m not talking about the sword…)


Now I’m just going to tell y’all (yes I’m from Texas, we say that when stuff’s about to get super serious), I was never really attracted to Jamie Campbell Bower in his other roles. But, excuse my French, HAWT DAMN did he do a great job as Jace! I thought he pretty much owned the character and, well…yeah.
Also, SO glad they kept the Jace quote about occasionally rejecting himself to keep things interesting in the movie….it’s just….so Jace.

3 Comments

September 18, 2013 · 12:54 am

3 responses to “The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

  1. I still haven’t read this book…it’s been sitting on my shelf for about a hundred years now. One of these days I’ll pick it up – I’d like to read it before I see the movie. 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Mortal Instruments: City of Ashes and City of Glass by Cassandra Clare | The Book Hunter

Leave a Reply

