A Storm of Swords (A Song of Ice and Fire Book 3) By George R.R, Martin

 

A Storm of Swords

Although this book is over a whopping thousand pages long with font size so small I feel like I need a new prescription after I’m done reading it, I just could not put it down. So far I have gathered that George R.R. Martin must really love causing his readers pain…I wanted to stay with all of the characters at the ends of each of their chapters, but alas, this was of course impossible.
As this is the third book in the series, I will skip writing a synopsis of the plot, I don’t want to give anything away. All I can say is, if you haven’t read this fantasy series yet, YOU MUST. It is simply fabulous. But I will warn, these books will suck you into their world. I call it “The Vortex.”
I am still not out of The Vortex, folks. I have two more books to finish and I can only HOPE that George R.R. Martin won’t croak and will finish the series soon.
So, instead, I will simply say that I felt like this book was even more intense than the previous titles of the series. So much happens, and I have to say that I was glad to have Jaime’s and Sam’s perspectives for this book (though was equally happy to revisit Daenarys, Jon, Bran, Arya, Sansa, and Tyrion….oh Tyrion).

joffrey
Also, I’ve been assigning theme songs for each character as they come to me. I was having a little trouble with Joffrey though. I mean, really….what song could really encapsulate the wicked madness that is Joffrey Baratheon? Then….it came to me in a moment of inspiration. The perfect song.

You’re A Mean One, Mr. Grinch as sung by Thurl Ravenscroft. I’ve added the youtube video below. Just replace “Mr. Grinch” with “Joffrey Baratheon” and you’ll see what I mean.

You have all the tender sweetness of a seasick crocodile, King Joffrey, given the choice between the two of you I’d take the……..SEASICK CROCODILE!

Almost forgot the obligatory picture of Jon Snow!!
Jon Snow

Leave a comment

August 16, 2013 · 9:29 pm

Leave a Reply

