A Clash of Kings (A Song of Ice and Fire Book 2) By George R.R. Martin

A Clash of Kings (A Song of Ice and Fire Book 2) By George R.R. Martin

A Clash of Kings is the second book in A Song of Ice and Fire. For readers who have been diehard fans for years and years, I can only imagine your frustration as I am just now starting this series. However, despite the fact that I am a little bit late to jump on the readership bandwagon, I have no less been drawn into George R.R. Martin’s world of dragons, White Walkers, wargs, and blue-lipped warlocks. This sequel to A Game of Thrones did not disappoint. And in fact, I may have enjoyed this book even better than the first!
Instead of giving a traditional review, though, I will just say that I really enjoyed the shift to focus on different characters (such as Davos and Theon). As much as I cringed during the second season of the show when Theon makes these horrible choices that he does, from reading the book I felt like I understood his character and his character’s choices a bit more. I also actually felt bad for him in his very first chapter–his homecoming. If Pyke were an actual location on earth, no amount of money would be enough to pay me to visit there. However, despite Theon’s downward spiral, the character I really seemed to draw close to this time was Bran.
Bran
Although the other Stark children are dear to me (I felt sorry for Sansa even in the beginning when she was your typical pre-teen girl), this time around I really felt as though I grew closest to Bran. His undying, boyish, yet heartbreaking desire to be a knight, how he reacts to the things that happen to him, how he looks out for his younger brother Rickon, and especially his friendship with the Reeds, all made me pay special, close attention to his chapters. His discovery of his talents was done very well, and very subtly, I thought. And I found it particularly satisfying that though he may never achieve his dream of being a knight, he has newfound powers that help him protect himself and those he loves. I can only hope he lives in sequels to come.
That is all I will write on A Clash of Kings, though I have many thoughts about the blue rose that links Daenyris and Jon Snow! Instead of expounding on those, I will leave you with just a picture of Jon from the HBO show. Because really, no post about A Song of Ice and Fire would be complete without a picture of Jon Snow!
Jon and Ghost

Leave a comment

August 7, 2013 · 9:38 pm

Leave a Reply

