A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

I was instantly pulled into the world of the Seven Realms, Winterfell, King’s Landing, and the Wall. George R.R. Martin creates memorable and multidimensional characters. The story switches back and forth between a group of main characters but is always written in third person. Some readers might find this format daunting, but as the story continues to grow in intrigue and the pace picks up, I think this no longer becomes an issue. The world Martin has created is vast and full of people, but since he keeps the narration close to just one set of main characters it is not overwhelming. The names of the places, people, and the hints of fantasy language that are introduced to the reader are not so completely unfamiliar to those in our own world. In addition to this, while A Song of Ice and Fire is set in a fantasy world and does have a fantasy element, it has the feel more of medieval historical fiction or even literary fiction. I absolutely would recommend Game of Thrones to those who enjoy the HBO show (admittedly I watched the series before picking up the books) or for those who like fantasy or want a really enthralling book series to begin reading. I know that I will definitely be reading the other books in this series! I’m hooked!
Also, for your enjoyment, here is a picture of Jon Snow from the HBO Series. I just couldn’t post a review about GOT without a good Jon Snow pic…
jonsnow
I’d go direwolf shopping with Jon Snow any day….

8 Comments

July 25, 2013 · 9:43 pm

8 responses to “A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

  1. mskayporter

    Love the first three books. The fourth one I felt like I had to force myself to get through. The show is great. Lena Heady is fantastic!

  2. I love this series! I think the third book is by far the best – I didn’t love the fourth and fifth books as much, although now I’m listening to them on audio, and going back through a second time I find I appreciate those books more.

    • Good to know! I am on the second book right now and loving it! Though not sure for just how long I’ve signed away my free reading time to the series…

  3. Pingback: Animal Personalities in Fantasy Novels | The Book Hunter

  4. Pingback: The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare | The Book Hunter

  5. Pingback: The Mortal Instruments: City of Ashes and City of Glass by Cassandra Clare | The Book Hunter

  6. Pingback: Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor | The Book Hunter

Leave a Reply

