Book of The Week On Thursday

Book of The Week On Thursday

or……BOTWOT!

Here it is, once again ladies and gentlemen: the book of the week on Thursday!
Explanation: Every week on Thursday I will endeavor to pick a book (any book from any genre, including non-fiction, criticism, and poetry) to showcase each week. Just because I can. I will include a quote from the book and a short summary. Also, I will include updates on what I am reading, what I’m planning on reading/reviewing next. And any other tidbits of information I want to bequeath to the internet.
So here goes!

And the winner is:

Glimmerglass

I’d been the adult in this family since I was about five, and now it was time for me to take my life into my own hands. I was going to contact my father and, unless I got some kind of vibe that said he really was an abusive pervert, I was going to go live with him. In Avalon. In the Wild City that was the crossroads between our world and Faerie, the city where magic and technology coexisted in something resembling peace.
~Glimmerglass by Jenna Black

Dana is tired of taking care of her mother who is an alcoholic. She finally decides to contact her father, who is some sort of big shot Fae politician in the city of Avalon: the gateway between our world and the world of Faerie. Dana is half Fae but has grown up her whole life in the human world. Now she’ll have to learn about and explore her Fae roots in order to survive the cunning of Fae politics.
This book surprised me–at first I found Dana to be somewhat whiny and the beginning of the novel somewhat slow. However, the story definitely picks up and turned out be a fun, adventurous read. I wish I had an “I went to Avalon and all I got was this T-shirt” t-shirt!

Bookish News
What I read before: The Fifth Wave by Rick Yancey
What I’m reading now: The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
What I’m reading next: ?????

3 Comments

May 16, 2013 · 11:29 pm

3 responses to “Book of The Week On Thursday

  1. I’ve never heard of this book before, but it sounds intriguing. Sometimes I get a little tired of stories about the Fae unless they’re really unique, but I think I’ll check this one out.

    Looking forward to your review on “The Raven Boys.” I listened to the audio version of that book and loved it! Hope you do, too! 🙂

    • I know exactly how you feel. To tell you the truth, I think that’s what made the very beginning of this book a little slow going for me. I was like, “Oh here we go, yet another novel about Faerie, been there, done that.” But I was pleasantly surprised. I think what made it unique for me was the humor. I’m enjoying The Raven Boys so far!

  2. Pingback: The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare | The Book Hunter

Leave a Reply

