Beauty Queens by Libba Bray

Beauty Queens by Libba Bray

This book begins with a plane crash. We do not want you to worry about this. According to the U.S. Department of Unnecessary Statistics, your chances of dying in a plane crash are one in half a million. Whereas your chances of losing your bathing suit bottoms to a strong tide are two to one. So, all in all, it’s safer to fly than to go to the beach.
~Beauty Queens, Libba Bray

Beauty Queens is action-packed, hilarious satire that can somewhat be described as Lord of the Flies with teenage beauty pageant contestants. However, this book is so much more than that simple description. Yes, the girls crash land on what seems to be a deserted island and at first are in shock over what has happened and try to maintain their beauty pageant rituals. But soon they realize that they must come together in order to survive. As the girls learn from each other, stick together against giant snakes and smooth-tongued, “bodacious” pirates, they become strong enough to be able to take down their true enemies.
This is a bad-ass, hilarious, and heartwarming novel, which I recommend to all and any girls: even those of us who are beyond our teens.
Below are just some thoughts I have on the novel, but these include some mild spoiling!
******************************

I love, love, loved the setup and structure for this novel. The fact that it’s framed as a reality TV show with commercial interruptions from “The Corporation” was just perfect. I also loved all the different name-dropping of fictional Corporation TV/movie stars and products.
I swear, my greatest nightmare would be the maxi pads shaped like animals…feminine hygiene product commercials are already ridiculous, but I simultaneously love and fear the whole new level Libba Bray takes them to.
I think I annoyed everyone in the Classics Library when I brought this book to work because I literally could not keep myself from laughing out loud while reading.
Also, I would just like to say that on top of being a fabulous author and marvelous speaker, I would love Libba Bray no matter what for this quote (taken from a footnote in Beauty Queens) and this quote alone:

Really, being a librarian is a much more dangerous job than you realize. ~Beauty Queens, Libba Bray

You speak the truth, Libba Bray, you speak the truth.

~Molly (aka The Book Hunter)

3 Comments

May 14, 2013 · 3:33 pm

3 responses to “Beauty Queens by Libba Bray

  1. I had to get this book the moment I saw that cover – love the string of lipsticks, and the premise was very fun! I really enjoyed it, too, especially the transformation of the different characters as they came into their own. Always nice when a book lives up to your expectations of it. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Before the Devil Breaks You by Libba Bray | The Book Hunter

Leave a Reply

