Book of The Week On Thursday

Book of The Week On Thursday
or……BOTWOT!

Here it is, once again ladies and gentlemen: the book of the week on Thursday!
Explanation: Every week on Thursday I will endeavor to pick a book (any book from any genre, including non-fiction, criticism, and poetry) to showcase each week. Just because I can. I will include a quote from the book and a short summary. Also, I will include updates on what I am reading, what I’m planning on reading/reviewing next. And any other tidbits of information I want to bequeath to the internet.
So here goes!

And the winner for this week is…..(drum-roll)

Why I Let My Hair Grow Out by Maryrose Wood

I finally reached an open area with a big sign overhead that read, MEETING POINT. Right underneath the sign was a tall, beefy guy basically okay-looking guy leaning against a column, and he was holding a much smaller, handwritten sign of his own. It read:

I come to fetch the bonnie Morgan.
Hope your arse is ready for the trip!
Your friends at The Emerald Cycle Bike Tour Company

~From Why I Let My Hair Grow Out (p. 16-17)

About This Book
Morgan’s parents want to “fix” her after her boyfriend Raphael breaks up with her (leading to shocking hair-cutting incident that leaves her nearly bald). They pay her way to take a cycle-tour of The Emerald Isle. Morgan is less than pleased. But she’d rather be doing anything than be stuck at home with her annoying little sister and her confused, concerned parents. So now she will be riding her arse up and down Ireland. She plans on being surly and difficult the whole time, but something happens to derail her plans. Morgan is thrown hundreds of years into the past: into the days of Irish Legend where she is long-haired Morganne and must find a way to save the world.
By far this is one of the most fun travel/adventure stories I’ve read. It’s one of my favorites–Maryrose Wood’s prose is chatty and snarky and fast and hilarious. Great for fans of Meg Cabot or someone looking for fun, light-hearted fantasy.

Bookish News
What I read before: The Moon and More by Sarah Dessen
What I’m Reading Currently: Beauty Queens by Libba Bray
What I’ll Be Reading Next: The Fifth Wave by Rick Yancey
Before you go, here’s a picture of Paul Bettany as Chaucer in the wonderful movie A Knight’s Tale
chaucer-haters-a-knights-tale-57604197754
My favorite quote from Movie Chaucer: I know I lied. I’m a writer, I give the truth scope!
Well, I guess that’s all!
Until next time,
Molly (aka The Book Hunter)

2 Comments

May 9, 2013 · 9:34 pm

2 responses to “Book of The Week On Thursday

  1. I’ve never heard of this book before, but it looks cute. Thanks for the review!

  2. No problem and it is totally a cute, fun, super fast read!

Leave a Reply

