First Post

This is my very first post in “professional” blogging. I used to have a LiveJournal account when I was in high school, but that was very different content than what will be found here of course (mostly I posted Harry Potter related banners and memes, and in general a lot of angst-ridden essays on how I thought Harry should never have ended up with Ginny Weasley, but I digress). Now it’s a whole different ball-game. In only one year I will be looking for employment, and therefore I’m seeking to improve any and all skills that will help me in my future career search. So, hear ye, hear ye, future employers, I shall henceforth be blogging on the off chance that it saves me from living in a cardboard box and standing in line for government cheese (government cheese is the worst: all at once it is stringy AND powdery, how does it even achieve such a consistency?). Besides, my comforter doesn’t really match “dull cardboard brown.”

In any case, I hope you, the reader of this humble blog (yes, I am addressing a la Jane Eyre in the vain hopes that I might actually have a reader as Jane Eyre certainly does) will bear with me in my ramblings. I am sure they will be prone to be library-related, as my world as a Library Science student is saturated with such things. Also, there might also be similar angst-ridden posts about books that I am reading. Angst-ridden because most of them are YA novels (I am taking Materials for Young Adults this semester and I also generally tend to read YA Lit for fun all the time), and also because, who am I kidding? I never have gotten over that whole Harry/Ginny debacle. This is a major contributing factor to my continued angst into adulthood. If this first rambling post, upsets, annoys, or bothers you in any way, feel free to send me an angry face emoticon via e-mail or comments (see future employers: I CAN take constructive criticism! I have thick skin! Now off to sob into my SmartOnes 140 calorie guilt-free bowl of ice cream….)

Now, just in case my “About Me” page and profile doesn’t do me justice, here is a little shameless tooting of my own horn:

I am current graduate student at the UT School of Information. I graduated this past May (2012) with a B.A. in English Literature and a minor in Creative Writing. I am hoping to one day be an academic librarian and novelist (I write YA and adult fiction, horrible poetry, and a lot of fantasy). Other goals include to improve my blogging skills, outdoor skills, kitchen skills, and spelling skilllllzzzzzz. I am huge believer in small miracles, the written word, the physical print format, adjectives, the Loch Ness monster, libraries, macaroni and cheese, God, the use of technology for good rather than evil, and thank you cards, not necessarily in that order. My favorite movies of all time are Monty Python and The Holy Grail, School of Rock, Beauty and the Beast, Juno, and many more. Currently I’m watching How I Met Your Mother, but I also am a big fan of many other shows including but not limited to: Doctor Who, Gilmore Girls, Secret Diary of a Call Girl, Girls, House Hunters and House Hunters International, Swamp People, My Life As Liz, Awkward, the Guild, and DOWNTON ABBEY IS A WAY OF LIFE, NOT JUST A TV SHOW!!!!!!!!!!! I breathe 19th Century British Literature, and exhale authors such as the Bronte sisters, Jane Austen, Charles Dickens, Wilkie Collins, William Blake, and many others on a daily basis. It is an occupational hazard to be around me and suddenly find yourself discussing favorite books or stories or characters. I just can’t get enough of stories. I’m hooked. Certifiably addicted.
Don’t mistake me for some crotchety old, bookish, Librarian-lady though. I am vivacious and free-spirited and love to dance!

So, I only have one last question before I close….will it be government cheese for me? Or the organic, highly cultured Monterrey of employment?

Leave a comment

Filed under Bloggish

Leave a Reply

